top of page
  • Writer's pictureLike A Girl

The Problem with Sha'Carri Richardson's Suspension from the Olympics

Updated: Dec 26, 2021

"If it ain't crack, let her run track!"




Sha’Carri Richardson amazed many with her remarkable 100-meter run at the Olympic Trials in June 2021, earning a time of 10.86. She was expected to become the first American woman to win the 100-meter race in the Olympics since 1996.


The track star has since been suspended for one month, starting June 28th, after failing a drug test. She tested positive for THC, also known as weed. This suspension will prevent her from running the 100-meter dash, but she could possibly be running the 4x100 relay.


Although the news is disappointing, Richardson has taken full responsibility for her actions, noting that "as much as I’m disappointed, I know that when I step on that track, I don’t represent myself, I represent a community that has shown me great support, great love."


She stated that the reason for her drug use was the death of her biological mother. She found out during an interview through the reporter and resorted to marijuana in order to cope. Recreational use of marijuana is legal in Oregon, the state where the Olympic Trials took place and where she tested positive. It is also important to note that marijuana is not proven to be a performance-enhancing drug, though it is still banned by the Olympic Committee’s World Anti-Doping Agency.


Many are angry over the one-month ban for Richardson, and many have signed a petition on MoveOn, which has garnered over 300,000 signatures!


"Standing here, I'd just say don't judge me, because I am human," she said on the Today Show. "I'm you, I just happen to run a little faster."


Sources:






15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

WOC and Mental Health

It’s not news that women of color continue to suffer disproportionately in the modern age, affected by everything from little slights to...

Comments


bottom of page